Home | MyGov

Accessibility Tools
Color Adjustment
Text Size
Navigation Adjustment

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Created : 05/06/2017
Click to participate above Activities

In the year 1985-86, the erstwhile Ministry of Welfare was bifurcated into the Department of Women and Child Development and the Department of Welfare. Simultaneously, the Scheduled Castes Development Division, Tribal Development Division and the Minorities and Backward Classes Welfare Division were moved from the Ministry of Home Affairs and also the Wakf Division from the Ministry of Law to form the then Ministry of WelfareSubsequently, the name of the Ministry was changed to the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment in May, 1998.